Red State=Slave State: The More Things Change…

THE MORE THEY REMAIN THE SAME:

I’m sure you have seen this pic lately.  A fascinating look at how the 2012 election map compares to the 1846 map of slave and non-slave states in America.

The more things change, the more they remain the same.

By and large, the red states in the recent election mirrored Slave states prior to The American Civil War.  While some may try to dismiss this as insignificant, I’m here to tell you that this sums up my point of “The American By Default” Blogs…  The more things change, the more they remain the same.  I blogged about this notion recently regarding the “Voter Suppression” policies of the 2012 Presidential Elections.  See here.

The Residue and the Stench of the institution of  Slavery “for life” of my ancestors in this country is like a dirty toilet bowl ring.  No matter how many times you try to flush the notion of “racism against Blacks ” down the toilet, your stinky residue remains behind.  Until you give it the attention it deserves and clean it with some Lysol or something, the stain remains.  The longer it stays there, the harder it is to remove.

Slavery in America is a stain that remains in the fabric of this country, and no matter how much some try to ignore it, it continues to be an eyesore of  this nation.  As “The American By Default”, I am always wearing my “Peculiar Glasses”, so I always see the stain of slavery on this country.  But as for those sporting your “rose-colored” glasses, look again.  From 1846 to 2012…  the more things changed, the more they remained the same.

I am the American-By-Default and I’m watching you through my peculiar glasses. And let me tell ya… I don’t like much of what I see. So I’m going to tell you about it, JUST IN CASE YOU TRY TO FORGET!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Politics, Racism

Leave a Reply

